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Department of Taxation Promoter
Instructions and Application Application

One-Time Special Event Permits

PROMOTERS — ORGANIZERS - COORDINATORS

PROMOTERS of one-time special events should contact the Department of Taxation at least TWO weeks
prior to register the scheduled event. These are events where retail sales of tangible property occur and
include, but are not limited to: auto shows, gun shows, sport shows, concerts, carnivals, flea markets and
trade shows. A one-time permit is not required for a trade show that is not open to the public and where
NO retail sales occur. If retail sales are transacted, the promoter will be required to follow the instructions
below, complete the application and submit it to the Department before a One-Time Event packet can be
sent for distribution to your vendors. All non-profit entities must qualify as a Nevada religious, charitable
or educational organization and apply with the Department for a sales tax exemption. The Promoter must
obtain a copy of the organization’s exemption letter; otherwise that vendor must collect sales tax.

|
VENDORS — EXHIBITORS — PARTICIPANTS

If you are an exhibitor attending a one-time special event, tradeshow, convention or a participant in a flea
market, contact your event promoter to declare if you will be a vendor transacting sales of tangible
products at the event. The promoter will provide those VENDORS a “one-time sales tax return”. Vendors
will be required to complete this return and remit it with the sales tax collected back to the promoter at the
end of the event. The promoter will forward the completed return and your payment to the Department
on your behalf. All checks should be made payable to the Nevada Department of Taxation. If you sell at
more than two events in Nevada during a twelve month period, you must register with the Department and
obtain your own Sales & Use Tax Permit. If you require further assistance contact the Department’s Call
Center at (866) 962-3707.

|
COMPLIANCE

Every person or business that makes sales of tangible products must lawfully collect sales tax per NRS
360.090, 372.725. Use tax is due on products that are given away without charge that have significant value
(NRS 372.7275). Food vendors who sell prepared food intended for immediate consumption are required to
collect and remit sales tax. Prepared food items include items sold in a heated state or heated by the seller,
food made from two or more ingredients mixed together, or food sold with eating utensils, such as plates,
cutlery, napkins glasses or straws. Bakery items, such as bread, rolls cookies, etc., are not taxable unless
sold with eating utensils or sold in a heated state. Farmers’ market vendors who sell only fresh produce to
be cooked or consumed at a later date do not need to collect sales tax. Contact the Carson City office if
there will be liquor, cigarettes or other tobacco products sold or given away without charge at the event.
These commodities are subject to special laws and regulations. If sales tax is included in the selling price,
you must post a sign to that effect. Department Revenue Officers may visit events to ensure vendors are

collecting sales tax and the taxes are remitted to the promoter when the event closes.
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http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Forms/APP-02%2001%20Sales%20Tax%20Exemption%20Application.pdf
http://tax.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/taxnvgov/Content/Forms/ONE%20TIME%20APPLICATION%20Vendor%20list%20rev5A.xls

PROMOTER INSTRUCTIONS

Complete the Promoter Application and information
sheet included in this packet. In addition to the
Promoter information, you must include the required
information to identify your event, including the event
location, start date, end date and contact information.

If you do not have a 10 digit Nevada Tax Identification
Number (TID), one will be assigned to you.

You must also provide information on each vendor who
has declared to be selling tangible items or products.

You may use the spreadsheet provided (XLS or PDF) or
attach your own vendor list in a similar format with the
requested information.

Submit your application with a vendor list at least two
weeks in advance to the appropriate office:

‘ Carson City

Provide Information Department of Taxation

3850 Arrowhead Dr., 2nd Floor

Carson City, NV 89706

(775) 684-2000 (Phone)  (775) 684-2020 (Fax)
ccevents@tax.state.nv.us

Reno (Including Elko County)

Department of Taxation

4600 Kietzke Lane, Suite L235

Reno, NV 89502

(775) 687-9999 (Phone)  (775) 688-1303 (Fax)
renoevents@tax.state.nv.us

Southern Nevada (Clark & Nye Counties)
Nevada Department of Taxation

700 E. Warm Springs Rd., Suite 200

Las Vegas, NV 89119

(866) 962-3707 (Phone)  (702) 486-2373 (Fax)
Ivevents@tax.state.nv.us

Click here for application in Excel format for you to save
& then submit.
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PROMOTER INSTRUCTIONS

Prior to the event, distribute the “One Time Sales Tax
Return” that you received from the Department to each
attendee who declared to be a vendor. Those exhibitors
who are not selling tangible products do not need a
return. The return is a three part form on one standard
letter size page that the vendor must return to you at
the conclusion of the event. Only vendors selling
tangible products need the form.

Instruct vendors to complete the return with the

Prior to Event following information in all three sections before leaving
the show:

o Name of Business or Individual

o Phone Number

o Business Address

e  Business Federal Identification Number
e Gross Taxable Sales

e  Sales Tax Due

e  Signature of Vendor

e Assigned Space Number (if applicable)

The Promoter is responsible for making sure all vendors
are collecting sales tax. Nevada Sales Tax rates vary
from county to county, so please be sure the correct tax
rate is being charged for your event location. Rate
cards are included in your promoter packet for your
county.

If sales tax is included in the selling price, a sign must be

posted at each booth indicating that sales tax is

’ included in all purchase prices. If the vendor already
holds a Nevada Sales Tax Permit, the vendor must have

one posted in the booth.

Our Revenue Officers periodically visit one-time events
to verify that the promoter and vendors are in
compliance with Nevada statutes.

If a vendor has no sales, or has non-taxable sales, or
already holds a Nevada Sales & Use Tax Permit, the
vendor is still required to sign and turn in the one-time
tax return showing zero.
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PROMOTER INSTRUCTIONS

The Promoter shall gather and reconcile the sales tax
returns from the vendors at the conclusion of the
event.

Each vendor must remit the sales tax collected and
their “ONE TIME TAX RETURN” to the promoter BEFORE
departure. All three sections should be filled out. The
Seller’s Copy (bottom) is to remain with the vendor.
The Promoter’s Copy (middle) is retained by the
promoter. The Department Copy (top) must be mailed
back to the Department within ten business days after
the conclusion of the event with the amount due.

If a vendor has an existing sales tax permit, have them
clearly indicate that number on all three copies of the
“One-Time Sales Tax Return”. Those vendors may
remit payment of taxes collected at the event on their
“regular” Sales & Use Tax Return.

The Promoter will then compare the number of
returns collected to the list originally submitted in the
application. Note and explain any discrepancies.

Each vendor should make their checks payable to THE
NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION. If the vendor
remits cash, please convert it to check or money order.
Please do not send cash through the mail. If a check or
money order is made payable to the promoter, another
check will be needed to be issued payable to NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION. Please be advised there is
a $25.00 return check fee for any check returned for
non-sufficient funds.

REMINDER: THE PROMOTER IS THE RESPONSIBLE
PERSON TO ENSURE THAT ALL VENDORS FILE AND PAY
THEIR RETURNS AT THE CONCLUSION OF THE SPECIAL
EVENT.
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